Properly called The Protector Lamp & Lighting Co Ltd. Formed in 1873 it has varied and fascinating history. It's principal success was the production of flame safety lamps to detect methane in coal mines. Ken Howarth visited the works in Eccles in 1973 and photographed various departments. A centenary book was published entitled The Protector Lamp & Lighting Co 1873-1973 by Philip Heyes.